Texas Education Code 25.087 ~ Excused Absences
    Absences that are considered EXCUSED (with a parent or doctor’s note) under Texas State Law:

    When the student is absent, the parent must provide a note that explains the reason for the absence within 3 school days after the student returns to school.

    Absence notes must include:

            1. Student’s full legal name

            2. Student’s ID #

            3. Date of the absence(s)

            4. Specific reason for the absence(s)

            5. Parent’s/Guardian’s full name

            6. Parent’s/guardian’s cell phone number


    If no documentation is provided, the absence is considered unexcused.

    Contact Your Child’s Campus to Find Out What if Any Additional Documentation is Needed for Excused Absences Under Texas State Law


    • Religious holy days (festivals, ceremonies, etc. are not excused)

    • Required court appearances

    • Activities related to obtaining United States citizenship or taking part in a United States naturalization oath ceremony (for the student)

    • Service as an election clerk

    • Documented healthcare appointments for the student or a child of the student (a  note from the healthcare provider must be submitted upon the student’s return to campus)

    • Students in the custody of the state

    • Mental Health or therapy appointments

    • Court ordered family visitations, or any other court ordered activity, provided it is not practicable to schedule the student’s participation in the activity outside of school hour

    • Visit with parent or guardian called to duty


    • COLLEGE VISITS JUNIORS AND SENIOR ONLY (2 days per)Pursuing enlistment in a branch of the US Armed Forces (17 years or older)

    • Student serving as a voting or election clerk

    • Student participating in sounding Taps for military honors

    • Visiting a driver’s license office to obtain a driver’s license or driver’s permit (Enrolled in high school, 15 years or older, 1 day for permit, 1 day for license while enrolled in high school)

    • Visiting a professional at the individual's workplace to determine the student's interest in pursuing a career in the professional's field, provided the student verified these activities to the district (up to 2 days for Juniors and up to 2 days for seniors) 

    Absences that are considered EXCUSED (with a parent or doctor’s note) under District Policy

    • Personal illness of the student

    • Healthcare appointment (doctor dentist, ets,) with appropriate documentation

      • If a student attends school for a portion of the school day, and attends a healthcare appointment on this same school day AND provides appropriate documentation, the student will receive credit for attending the whole day. 

    • Death of an immediate family member with appropriate documentation

    • School official sent student home from school (Nurse, Counselor, Administrator)

    • UIL Activities

    • School-sponsored curricular or extracurricular activities

    Parent notes must be turned in or emailed to the school’s attendance clerk no later than two school days after the child returns to school. The two-day period begins with the day the student returns to school.