Return to Headlines


The Belton ISD Board of Trustees has elected a new President. Sue M. Jordan, a Belton High School Class of 1983  graduate and board member since 2013, was unanimously approved by her colleagues to fill the leadership role at the August 20, 2018, regular meeting.

A lifetime resident of Belton, Jordan has brought her passion for education, professional background in technology, and experience as a parent of five Belton ISD students to her service on the Board.

“Education puts you in the driver’s seat for a successful future,” Jordan said. “Because the Belton Independent School District has stayed on the cutting edge of instruction and continues to find ways to be innovative, I believe that students in our district have a distinct advantage. I look forward to continuing to support the District’s mission to provide an education that challenges all of our students to excel as we continue to plan for and tackle the District’s growth.” 

The Board also voted Jeff Norwood to serve as Vice President and Janet Leigh as Secretary.

The Board reorganization was the result of Leo Camden, Jr. and Mike Cowan resigning for personal and professional reasons that will lead to both trustees moving out of the District.

To fill vacancies for Area 2 and Area 5, the Board announced plans to interview and appoint new members. 

Individuals who wish to be considered must apply with a letter of interest.

Letters of interest to serve as Trustee for Area 2 or Area 5 should be addressed to Sue M. Jordan, Board President, and can be emailed to, mailed to the President at Belton ISD, P.O. Box 269, Belton, TX 76513 or hand-delivered to the administration building at 400 N. Wall, Belton, TX 76513

The deadline for submitting a letter of interest is Monday, September 10, 2018, by 5:00 p.m.

Sue Jordan