Return to Headlines

Belton ISD students place at state-level National History Day competition

NHD Competition

Belton ISD students recently excelled at the state-level National History Day competition, with three out of six state award winners advancing to the next level of competition. 

Aditi Bhat and Caroline Moehlenbrock from Belton New Tech High School @ Waskow and Hope Bovell from North Belton Middle School earned a trip to the national competition, which will be held June 14-20. 

“We are so proud of all of our students who competed,” said Chris Lemley, Belton ISD’s social studies coordinator. “They put forth massive amounts of effort to complete these projects. The talent and creativity they displayed is inspiring. We’re thrilled that so many of our students were recognized for their hard work at the state level.”

The national competition, normally held at the University of Maryland, will be held virtually this year due to COVID-19. State awards were presented virtually on April 30 by the Texas State Historical Association. 

National History Day is a yearlong program that turns students into historians as they explore local, state, national and world history. This year’s theme was “Breaking Barriers in History.”

The program culminates in three levels of competition - regional, state and national - in which students showcase their rich knowledge and present their work to a panel of judges.

Teachers Timothy Potts and Allison Bradburn from New Tech and Elizabeth Howson from North Belton Middle served as advisors for the students. 

“These teachers, together with parents and administrators, helped ensure that Belton ISD remains a leader in the Texas History Day competition,” Lemley said. “Special thanks goes to everyone in the Big Red Community who has supported these students.”

A broadcast of the award ceremony, with a special opening and closing by Matthew McConaughey, is available at Awards won by Belton ISD students include:

  • Aditi Bhat from New Tech placed second in the “Senior Individual Websites” category for her project “‘Deeds Not Words’ The Suffragettes, Women Breaking Barriers.” Bhat also won the 2020 Women’s Vote Centennial Senior Division award, a special recognition presented this year only to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment. 

  • Hope Bovell from North Belton Middle School placed first in the “Junior Individual Websites” category for her project “Madame Curie: Breaking Barriers and Saving Lives.”

  • Caroline Moehlenbrock from New Tech placed second in the “Senior Individual Exhibits” category for her project “Joan Ganz Cooney: Breaking Barriers in Educational Broadcasting.”

  • Krithika Rajesh and Maheshwari Rajesh from New Tech placed third in the “Senior Group Websites” category for their project “The White Rose: ‘We Will Not Be Silent.’”

  • Hannah Wood from North Belton Middle School was honored with the Outstanding Regional Award for the most outstanding entry from the Heart of Texas regional competition.