Return to Headlines

BISD Honors Teachers of the Year

Belton ISD recognized the Teachers of the Year selected by each campus and the District's athletics, career and technical education, special education, and fine arts programs in a special luncheon on Wednesday.

BISD Teacher of the Year

“I stand in awe of you and have such great respect for each of you,” Superintendent Dr. Susan Kincannon said to the educators being honored. ”Your work in the classroom and with our students is a true masterpiece. You are the best of the best, outstanding examples of the teaching profession. Each day you create, design and build something special for our students. You touch their lives.”

From the group of 19 educators, Holly Lamberte, a biology teacher and cross country coach at Belton High School, was selected as the District's secondary teacher of the year, and Kelly Francis, fifth-grade teacher at Lakewood Elementary, was named the District's elementary teacher of the year.

Teacher of the Year

In addition to Lamberte and Francis, the following teachers of the year were celebrated during the event with personal remarks from their campus principal or program director: Tiffney Barnes, Belton High School; Shannon Gish, Belton New Tech High School at Waskow; Rebecca Alcozer, Career & Technical Education; Melissa Stuhff, Fine Arts; Doug O’Loughlin, Special Education; Edgar Miranda, Lake Belton Middle School; Dorothy Adams, North Belton Middle School; Blair Hodges, South Belton Middle School; Courtney Bradley, Belton Early Childhood School; Kandee Moon, Chisholm Trail Elementary; Tina Friedrich, High Point Elementary; Danielle Bridges, Leon Heights Elementary; Paige Carrasquillo, Miller Heights Elementary; Alyssa Lewis, Pirtle Elementary; Veronica Schockency, Southwest Elementary; Katie Schindler, Sparta Elementary; and Stepani Wilson, Tarver Elementary.

Teacher of the Year

“Like Holly and Kelly, all of the teachers that we’re honoring have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to our students,” Kincannon said. “It is their commitment to students and to the entire Belton ISD team that continues to set our district apart, and because of their dedication, I can confidently say that our students will reflect back on their time in our schools with fond memories of moments that mattered to them.”

Lamberte and Francis will both move forward in the selection process for teacher of the year for Education Service Center Region 12.

See more photos at

Elizabeth Cox
May 22, 2019